That End of Year Itch

So the magic of Christmas is fading and the New Year celebrations await ahead of (supposedly) the most depressing month of the year when the weather is terrible and the bank balance lean - unlike the bulging waistline.

The limbo days between Boxing Day and NYE are traditionally filled with watching too much telly, eating your bodyweight in left overs and boozing at any given opportunity. But not for me this year...

Aircraft workshop duties and freelance work meant no daytime sofa slouching and little time for indulging - although you’ll be relieved to hear I did sneak in a cheeky Chinese take away and some port and stilton with my workshop buddies over a couple of evenings.

Took time out this afternoon to call in on Biggles’ mum who suffered with a nasty chest infection like so many of my friends and family this festive season. Rotten for them.

Biggles recognised my voice when I arrived and welcomed me with a waggy tail. I gave him a good scratch on the head and behind the ears (doggie heaven). His expression seemed to sum up the general mood among my friends; a sigh of relief as the year comes to a close.

I don’t know about you but I always start to get ‘end of year itch’ in these last few days of the year where I want to leave the daily grind behind and travel the world, finish my novel, start a radical new fitness regime and, naturally, achieve a new aviation dream.

For now I’ll start with getting more sleep in January and reading books. Not forgetting continuing work on the aircraft rebuild. As for the dreams and aspirations? I’ll keep on believing and share my time with those who dream of the same things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.