Saturday Self-portrait

Yesterday late afternoon I was in the process of uploading an image to my Blip journal when the power went out.  (Almost glad it did as I like the image I ended up blipping better.)  We had a fairly major freezing rain and wind storm that lasted most of the day and evening yesterday resulting in alot of damage to our valley.  Some can be repaired and some not.  

All evening and night long we heard the cracking of branches followed by a hollow sounding thud as they fell.  Ice clinging to branches finally releasing their hold under the weight sounded like squirrels scampering across our roof as it slid and made it’s way to the ground.  

I’m thankful for my love being so resourceful.  He does well at making me feel safe and ensured that we were to the best of his ability.  He even headed outdoors in the blustery weather to cook our dinner on the barbecue. Even though the winds howled and seemed to rattle the windows, we were warm, cosy and safe inside.  

Looking out this morning we viewed the devastation all around us.  Ours wasn’t too bad other than a branch that had snapped off a huge maple tree in the park beside our home and made it’s way through our fence.  

Am trying to keep my self portraits in keeping with what’s going on in my life at the time but don’t be fooled by this image.  I didn’t lift a finger.  The safety gear (props) I’m wearing is courtesy of my hubby with his helmet being a necessity to protect me from the falling ice. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.