Crossing Paths

Dear Diary,

The last day of 2017 and, frankly, I am not sad to turn my back on this year.  So much chaos and division sewn by the horrible man in the Oval Office.  It hardly seems like my country anymore.  But there has been great hope and energy in the resistance movement and some great victories, especially in Alabama.  I think it bodes well for 2018.

Many critters visit my yard at night.  I don't know who made these tracks since I cannot get out there and examine them closely.  I can only say one small and one large animal crossed paths.  The little tracks are probably a fox or coyote and the large maybe a moose.  I saw a moose in my yard many years ago.  It was a moonlit night, like last night, and I had gotten up to use the bathroom.  There was a large bull moose very casually walking across the yard!  These tracks look a bit too big for a deer so maybe Mr Moose paid another visit.

We cross paths with people all the time, most we hardly notice, some become a most welcomed part of our lives.  New Years Eve is a thresh hold time, a time for looking back and looking forward.  It is a day to pause at that thresh hold and consider.  Do we let the pain of the past year hold us there or do we cross confidently into the new year ready for whatever it brings?  It is our choice, it's always our choice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.