First Blip

Doing this Blip under threat of the police turning up any second to cart me away.

As I mentioned last night, had realised I had a bump under the skin that had gone septic and would almost certainly be in hospital today. And so it came to pass.

Took it slowly this morning but didn't have any breakfast in case I had to go under the knife on the operating table. Waited for the nursing staff to have time to do all the morning jobs that need to be done and then just before they start to whhel out the lunch trolleys, phoned the ward where I am rather too well known. Spoke to the duty doctor who naturally knew me and he said to come in but strangely to go to A&E rather than as normal directly to the ward and bring overnight case.

I didn't do case bit as I was reckoning on being home tonight and the operation tomorrow. Arrived at hospital at exactly 12:00 and by 14:20 was sitting on my ward bed signing a piece of paper saying I was leaving the hospital at my own risk and if I wasn't back in two hours, the police would be called. Young very conscientious doctor and I nodded.

So now back home and as all good Blipers know, duty first and the days Blip in the can then the rest can follow. I will however be returning soon when I have collected all my technical bits to make the next day or two bearable.

Not having been to Memmingen hospital for 1bout 16 months, wasn't aware that the city council had spent some cash. Swish new A&E buildings and examination rooms and on the ward, the rooms while still 3 bedded in the lowest public health insurance caategory which I am in, have been equipped with electric beds and out with the 1950's creaking and groaning ones. Bed tables still equipped with 1950's "entertainment" system but "your not here for the fun, son".

Within 15 minutes of arriving at A&E had been wired up for drips, blood and urine sample taken and then followed very detailed examination and lots of scan photos. Doc despite my warnings insisted on looking at the kidneys as well. As expected a good size gravel works in place but what the heck if they are happy sitting around and not worrying anyone.

By the time he was through, the blood test back and all OK. Still the situation was potentially "life threatening" (very conscious doc) and he would check with senior doc if operation today or tomorrow but I had to remain under observation as it could turn nasty any minute.

Up to the ward, and then the news no operation today but tomorrow. Then the I'm going home to get my things discussion and anyway I am starving and you say I can now eat. "Yes but not at home, only under our observation."

So here I sit with three cups of coffee in the hand and the first of a few of Angie's homemade hamburgers left over from yesterday devoured and I need to stop writing so as to raid the fridge again.

Hope all Blipers recovering well and will do some browsing from the mobile when I get back to hospital .... so long as the police don't get here first.

This is set to be a memorable year..........

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.