Routine

Day went very much as expected. I was pushed further back on the operating theatre timeplan but that is normal. There were a few emergency cases overnight.

Eventually after lunch - not for me who had been nil-by-mouth since midnight - I was wheeled down, hopped on to the operating table  and made small talk with all the anaesthetic team as they wired me up. Sadly most of us know each quite well! Then in came doc but again mask was not enough to stop me recognising her. Young and very thoughtful, pleasant person so more than happy to drift off when my mask was put on and the order to breath deeply.

Was fairly quick and I think I was coming to in the wake up room within half an hour. And from then on spent most of the evening falling in and out of sleep. Evening meal as always too little but still had all the reserves Angie had told me to pack.

So no surprises and no more or less than one can nowadays expect from our national health systems. We can however be very grateful that we have a system that cares for us in times of need, The vast majority of our human co-inhabitants still don't enjoy even the very basic level of health care. In some aspects we haven't improved much in the last 2017 years.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.