Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Storm Eleanor

Storm Eleanor has rather dominated my day.  It the early hours it felled an enormous beech that came down over the Worthy Road close to the back of my house.  I sleep at the front so didn't hear the crash or see the sirens through my curtains, I'm glad to say.  It's one of about 12 enormously tall but rather weedy beeches perched uncomfortably on a bank.  One came down about 2 years ago.  Now this one.  How long, you have to wonder, before the others topple.  You can see some of the chopped up trunk in Extras.

The shut road meant I had to walk across town to my physio appointment.  And back.  Altogether, I was rather weary when I got home, so instead of embarking on planned blipwalk, I turned my camera on these hazel catkins at the bottom of the Close.  A touch of spring.  They did bobble about in the wind dreadfully, but here is one at least in focus ;)

And this afternoon I saw my old gent so we thoroughly talked through this piece of local news.  I am now fully briefed on all the other trees that have fallen around here in the past 30 years.

Thanks to Cailleach for hosting WildWednesday.

Have a good evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.