Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Stained glass

Another day that might have been sunny but turned into a dark grey one, so with very little time, because of taking OG out this afternoon, I popped into the cathedral to look at the stained glass.  At least that's something colourful, I thought, then posted it in mono :(  Seriously though, I thought it rather lovely like this, almost a bit of a revelation.  This piece was high up, as was the Extra.  I am assuming the blipped gent can only be late Victorian/Edwardian with his combination of classical laurel wreath, Arthurian court dress and that luxuriant moustache, but for once I couldn't find a guide to tell me.

The piece of glass in Extras couldn't be more different - clearly medieval and probably used for target practice by Round Heads in the English Civil War (1642-51), who briefly camped in here, horses and all, and shot out the glass in the great west window, among other destruction.  I found the comparison in style between the two windows quite fascinating.

I'm very sorry, you will see my comments are off for tonight.  I'm okay but still struggling with post-Christmas exhaustion.  Hearts and stars, as always, will be forthcoming.

Have a great evening  xx

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.