Easy Digging

I found myself digging up raspberry canes on the allotment this morning. I'd laid down a long roll of plastic fencing along the path to one of my composters to stop myself slipping. The raspberry canes were as usual in my way as they have been for a few years! Today was their day to be removed! It was actually rather easy as the ground was just waterlogged. I'd had to make channels to allow the water to drain away from the recently planted strawberries! 
After the path was made clear I sat on my bench and meditated. Meditating on the allotment is just the best. Tuning into the birds singing and the sudden gusts of wind. I could visualise the wind as it swirled along the valley, over the allotments and me! 
Looking at my Fitbit to see how much time had gone by I discovered I was nearly up to my 10,000 steps already and had exceeded my exercise target - that's not happened in quite a long time! 
On the way back along the muddy track, I noticed the brambles had already started into growth so happily cut them down as far down as I could reach through the fence. I added thorn piercings to the nettle stings I had obtained whilst pulling up the grass growing up the hen's fence! I had also discovered the fence checker was dead - another thing to buy on eBay! I recently bought some feves des rois. I'd bought some for my sister years ago and wanted some for myself - a week ago my saved search on eBay finally found some! 
Usual evening of knitting and watching The Factory. I've always been fascinated watching how things are made in factories - I remember watching them at primary school! This week it was fish fingers! I found out oysters used to be a regular cheap meal for the Victorians until a sewage outlet was built opening onto the oyster beds and people got typhoid! Equally fascinating is why one of the presenters always wears mustard coloured clothes that look antique! I guess they go with her hair colouring but she does look mighty odd! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.