lovelife209

By mindful_life

Abstract Thursday- purple puff

My photo today is of a fluffy ball. It’s actually a key ring I got for my daughter for Christmas because she loves key rings. It isn’t to my taste but that is the whole point isn’t it? We should be ourselves and be able to express ourselves in any way we like and today is a reminder for me about how we need to live for today and appreciate what we have. You never know what is around the corner.

My dad went to hospital for surgery today for a hip replacement. He needs them both done but today he had one. He was incredibly nervous about it, worried that if he has a general anaesthetic he wouldn’t wake up.

I was at work so my mum kept me and my sisters posted and I think she was as nervous as he was. She found the waiting very hard.

He had the operation and he came round and is fine and now the recovery begins for him. I am sure he is feeling relieved and happy he got through it. I was looking for a quote and found one I thought appropriate (see below).

I have many scars, both physical and mental - I joke that I have been attacked by a tiger on my tummy as I have had operations leaving lots of scars - 2x c section, gallbladder removal and also a melanoma. A couple of years ago I had the call from my doctor that a mole removal was indeed cancer. I had to have more tissue taken away and other precautionary moles removed. When I first had the melanoma scars we went on holiday and I refused to let it bother me. I wore a bikini (and factor 50) and people stared but I reminded myself that I should be proud of my scars (physical and mental) because without them I literally wouldn’t be here today.

“Never be ashamed of the scars that life has left you with. A scar means the hurt is over, the wound has closed, YOU endured the pain and YOU are healed” - anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.