SILLY SATURDAY

We were due to meet our son and his wife and another friend at Jack’s for our usual Saturday morning coffee, but just before we left, Mr. HCB said that one of his hearing aids was “playing up”.  He has had quite a lot of dud batteries just lately, so thought it was that, but even after changing the battery in the right one, it was still not working properly, so he decided that he would have to pop into Leightons after we had had our coffee to see if there was anything that could be done.

I rang and spoke to the lovely Manager, Kate, - in the middle of the collage - and after a lovely morning drinking coffee and chatting with Martyn, Dawn, Tim, Trevor and Louise, off we went.

I guessed there might be something I could photograph that I could use for Silly Saturday and when we got to the shop, I looked around and then started rearranging things a little - I must add that they are quite used to me now, so would think it unusual if I didn’t make some adjustments to their displays.  Kirsten just smiles and keeps her head down, but we always have some great banter with Kate.  She did try and sort out the fault on Mr. HCB’s hearing aid, but as she was not able to do it, said that she would need to speak to Elizabeth about it and hopefully he should hear from her early next week.

I rather liked the tins of soup in the display at the top left by Etnia Barcelona, another designer eyewear brand.  Wouldn’t it be great if we really could get our shot of culture from eating a tin of soup - it would save us having to go out in the cold but I guess wouldn’t be half as much fun as going to somewhere like the Albert Hall, the Tate Gallery or the V & A Museum!

I asked the significance of the red London buses and was told that another designer, William Morris used it in their advertising campaign.  According to the website their glasses are “designed and coloured in London with a quirky and stylish take on eyewear” and are designed for “the young minded individual.”  Well, I guess I had better look at these the next time I need new frames because I am definitely “young minded” if not “young bodied”!

After rearranging some of the glasses cases, I took more photographs and decided I liked the pink pandas - I may ask for one like this next time.  The bright pink one would definitely go with my pink robe and slippers so perhaps if they have a BOGOF offer, these could be my second choice.  

All in all a Silly Saturday morning having fun at Leightons - there was no-one else in the shop at the time and as I said, Kate is quite used to us by now and it is such a joy to be served by people who smile and who obviously enjoy their job.  I like to think that we brightened up their day - either that or they were glad to see the back of us me.

“You don’t stop having fun
     because you get old,
          you get old because
               you stop having fun.”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.