BLOWING IN THE WIND

After a good service at Church this morning, Mr. HCB and I went to look for an outdoor Blip - and as we didn’t want to go too far, stopped in the car park at the Nationwide Headquarters Building.  Mr. HCB stayed in the car because the wind was biting, but I got out and wandered along a nearby path.

Although the sun was shining and there was a beautiful blue sky, I couldn’t believe how cold it was, my teeth were chattering and my hands were so cold I could hardly hold the camera.  I found what we think are some silver birch catkins and then set about trying to take a photograph.  It was so windy though that every time I clicked the shutter, and then looked at the screen, the image was very blurry where the wind had moved the catkins.

I decided that I just had to be patient, wait for the wind to drop a little and then take more photographs.  I rather liked this one where some of the catkins were blown by the wind and caught on a lichen encrusted branch, but at least are in focus whereas the one on the right looks as if it’s spinning round.  

I was only out of the car for about ten minutes, but was frozen when I got back in - and of course, I had to put my hands on Mr. HCB’s face just to let him know what he had missed by sitting in the car.

After we got home and had a quick lunch, I decided I needed to go out for a walk and thought I might have to go on my own, but Mr. HCB said he would kindly come with me.  We made sure we were dressed for the weather and off we went - I haven’t quite done my 8,000 steps today, but no doubt will get there before bedtime - but yesterday we did almost 12,000 so I’m happy with the way things are going.

O wind, if winter comes,
     can spring be far behind?
Percy Bysshe Shelley

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.