Nose Work

We woke to a cold but sunny day.

I took the boys for a walk and then I wanted to do some training, but our usual Heelwork To Music training was not an option, with two dogs that need to take it easy for a couple of days. In stead I hid swabs with lavender scent for the boys and let them do some Nose Work searches.

In Nose Work, dogs learn to search for a specific odor or odors and find the source. I often use lavender oil as that is the first odor they will meet if they ever get to go to a competition. 

I did 3 searches with each dog - 4 swabs in each search and all of them in different surroundings. It took a while, but it is Sunday so we have time and the boys really enjoyed the work.

Especially Gollum impressed me - he is very fast to find the odor and he has a strong and clear marking to show me where it is hidden. 

Hero seems to recover well from his operation and the wound does not bother him anymore. He has not been wearing any kind of cone or other protection all day as he is not interested in the wound at all. Good boy! He feels so ready to start training again - the vet advice differently though.

Biscuit has been happy and very agile today too. He does not seem to agree with the chiro about his rest time either :-)

So all in all we are doing well.

Happy weekend
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.