Uncooperative Swan

Yes I know this is a moorhen. My point entirely!

I was trying to blip a perfectly reflected swan in the still lake water at Stanborough but no sooner had I pointed the camera than the swan swam towards me, seeking food no doubt. I walked around the lake and tried again with one of its friends but the light was wrong on that side. You just can’t make nature bend to your will!

So you have a moirhen, relative of the coot but spending more time out of the water. Omnivorous, they eat everything from snails and insects to small fish and berries.

And so I left the lake to go to pilates. It was a mental effort but I’m glad I did go.

Mum & Dad and Barney came for dinner in the evening. Lovely to share family news from Melbourne & Napa... over Mum’s Victoria sponge, Peter’s roast chicken and my crumble - not that we all love our food or anything :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.