A meeting of minds and bodies

There's been no let up in the pace on our last day. This morning was Thai cooking school, courtesy of La. What a lovely Christmas present. I was particularly proud of my Phad Thai, which I thought was quite good as a first effort. I'm not sure that we'll have much chance to put these new skills to good use in Helsinki, but they will surely come into their own once we are back in Edinburgh.

Thereafter, there was a wander for Mr A and a swim for me, followed by a tuk tuk ride down to Sathorn Pier and then a trip on a long tail boat down the river and around some of the famous canals of Bangkok. It gave me a much better sense of the shape of the city and reinforced the desire to come back here with more time to explore. And both the tuk tuk ride and the long tail boat ride were white knuckle experiences!

Finally, there was a beer at Jack's Bar, and a last drink on the 14th floor of the hotel, where I enjoyed an evening swim in the infinity pool. That's a weird experience - swimming right up in the air.

It has, to use a hackneyed phrase, been a holiday of a lifetime. It certainly has generated quite some memories which I will treasure for ages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.