lovelife209

By mindful_life

Mono Monday -classic

With today’s mono Monday theme of ‘classic’ I gave lots of thought about what to photograph! There are classic games, foods,classical music, classic clothing... the list is endless!

In the end I settled on some classic children’s books and photographed one of my daughters piles of books (she has more than me)! She is an avid reader and every night without fail she reads.

The classic books in the pile are the stories written by Roald Dahl. During one of her years at school they did a whole term on the author, learning about him as a person as well as his books! Did you know he wrote his stories on yellow paper. He also wrote from his shed and based his characters on people he knew and invented 500 new words! They also got to go to the Roald Dahl museum where they got to make dream bottles and go in a giant peach!

In recent years his books have been republished and some movies have been created based on his books! My favourites are the BFG and Matilda which were brilliant!

When I was young I loved reading but my family weren’t big readers. For some reason I always felt like the odd one out in my house and a little embarrassed about it! I joined a library in my teens and my mum would drop me off there and I would stay for hours before she came to collect me! This was when I discovered Robert Goddard as one of my favourite authors and still is to this day!

This quote I found below is perfect for me and is also true about when I write. I become the characters in my books, feel their emotions and imagine their feelings.

I’m pleased they my daughter loves reading but mostly because she doesn’t feel ‘odd’ because she likes it. I will always encourage my children to do the things they love and to be themselves as that is all we should do.

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.” George Martin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.