lovelife209

By mindful_life

Cello playing

I have always loved the scroll part of the cello and whilst I had a practice this afternoon I played around with taking some photographs!

I started playing the cello as a child and passed my grade 8 around 17 years old when I was college. I was always determined to get my grade 8! I played with various orchestras went travelling around the UK and abroad but when I got married and had children my music became almost a thing of the past. It’s only over the last 9 months that I decided to take it up again and whilst I don’t play as much as I would like (time is everything) when I do play I really enjoy it. I listen to classical music a lot and try to encourage my children to as well.

Back when I was child digital technology didn’t exist and I spent so much of my childhood practising my instruments. These days children seem less inclined to do such thing, or maybe my children just aren’t as interested as I was! My parents never had in interest in music so it certainly came from within me, so maybe that just isn’t in my children. Having said that they do like it when I practice and often want to have a go too!!

My favourite cello pieces are Elgar’s Cello Concerto (I have never learned to play it but always wanted to so perhaps something for this year when I can buy the music) and Brahms Cello Sonata (which i can play and back in the day played from heart). I am very proud of the dedication I put into things when I was younger and am keen to follow that through in all the things I want to do as an adult x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.