Beginnings of a masterpiece???!!!

Today the children got up fairly spritely which was fantastic!!! I got to work and had a good day but I was mostly looking forward to getting home and meeting up with my music partner for our first rehearsal this year! 

Vicky's son came too who played with my son so it was win win! 

Before Christmas we were playing and rehearsing Christmas music so it made a change to play something different and both have some pieces to rehearse before next week. I took a photo of my cello for mono-monday because I thought it would be appropriate as it signifies the start of our musical journey this year. We are going to get a set together to play for events like weddings, but also some more popular music - we have a medley for The Greatest Showman to work on for example. 

We are also both going to be playing with the Birmingham Symphony Orchestra in March - they are looking for additional string players for a workshop day and whilst neither of us have played in an orchestra for a long time, we are both keen to take the challenge!! 

I did spend many years playing with the Bournemouth Philharmonic Orchestra as their head cellist and with the Swindon Symphony Orchestra until life got in the way so I am hoping the experience will build on my confidence (and competence).

Last time I posted about my cello I was asked how the Elgar Cello Concerto was coming along, so I decided to have a little practice and record the 'beginnings' of the piece.... I always wanted to perform this with an orchestra so maybe my dream will be fulfilled one day... its not perfect but you may recognise the piece should you care to watch here - be kind!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.