Sunsets And Skiing

I know I’ve blipped this view several times before, but today was a rare day that there were actually PEOPLE in my shot! A family started walking around the lake area about the same time I did. We chatted briefly and then I took a different path only to bump into them later at MY favourite spot! I didn’t mind one bit! It was nice to see them enjoying the view too. Even the little kid seemed to love it. Other than a few dog walkers I see so few people here. I like the fact that it’s quiet but I also wonder how many people who live around here don’t even know there is a place of such beauty right on their doorstep!

I went to church this morning. Our church building has been going through a major refurbishment and for 16 months we’ve been meeting in a school. Today was the first Sunday back in the updated building and it was very exciting to be back. My first impressions are very positive! A better use of the space and better for those with accessibility needs.

This afternoon was the last stage of the 9-day Tour De Ski! Both the ladies and men’s races were 9km with the last 4km involving a brutal climb UPHILL, with the gradient between 22-29% for most of the way. (See Extra photo)

I found the ladies race particularly exciting. The two Norwegians took the first and second places which was expected, though we weren’t sure which one! But there was quite a battle for third place, eventually being taken by Jessica Diggins from the US (ahead in the picture), which was a little unexpected!! This is the first time that a non-European has been on the podium for the Tour De Ski so it was very exciting! The men’s race was also great to watch and again another North American, Alex Harvey of Canada in third place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.