In Norwich

I've been planning to take my camera to Exposure Cameras in Norwich for a while. There's a visible "blotch" on some photos - it's probably there all the time, but not so visible in some, depending on the conditions and nature of the photo.  Exposure was recommended by GracieG some months ago.

So today, I got my act together.  I parked in Magdalen Street because I fancied a mooch in the secondhand shops there.  I did manage to keep my purse in my pocket during my visit!

Unfortunately, Exposure were not able to help, and recommended arranging for the camera to be returned to Sony for repairs.  Heyho - at least I tried.  Colegate, where Exposure are located, is one of the older parts of Norwich, with a number of photo opportunities.  The day was overcast, and the light unexciting, but I took a few photos of landmark houses.

This one has a plaque on the wall which reads: 

             Henry Bacon, Worsted merchant, built this house.  He became Sheriff of Norwich in 1548, Mayor in 1557 and 1566.  The house had associations with Kett's rebellion in 1549. 

Further research suggests that the "association" is that Henry Bacon in 1549 entertained the Earl of Warwick, who put down the rebellion, and by putting the Earl's badge over the door, Henry gave a clear sign of his allegiance.  I think we can be pretty certain that the big picture windows on the ground floor were not part of the original design of the house.

The house currently hosts a "gentleman's club".  Their photo is much better than mine - amongst other things, they have managed to banish the innumerable parked cars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.