Ready for Tui

A relaxed and relaxing day. A bit of reading. Not much else. A mid afternoon  high tide meant that when I went to the Southend mudflats, there was still plenty of water about, and not many birds. As I got back to the Beachhouse, a tui flew into a nearby tree. Tempted me by being visible until I had the camera focussed, Then hopped behind leaves and branches. As I moved, so it moved. Finally I had a place where it might hop into view; so it flew away instead.
Planted in the 'council 6m' (land between the road and 6m into the land is owned by Council) are some flax bushes. The biggest and strongest two have produced large flower stalks. The flowers are almost at the stage which tempts Tui to seek nectar from them. I haven't seen one there yet. I'm ever-hopeful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.