Leiflife

By Leiflife

Guess Who Is Getting The Evil Eye From Pearl?

Sadly so... At times she just can't help resenting the energetic little fellow. Repeatedly, she yowls loudly, saying: "There is no peace! Always you are saying: Do your business, little Lumen... Good dog! Good dog! As if it takes much brain to do this natural thing... I guess he doesn't cover it up, does he?"

Poor Pearl... And poor me at times... Life is certainly less peaceful, and I have to remind myself to appreciate my always hungry and demanding cat. I have to understand that she had grown accustomed to being the only one. We came together for feeding and sleeping, and in between we had our freedom. I do occasionally ask myself what freedom consists of now. Mostly, I think that Lumen is teaching me the beauty of basic existence. Daily being; keeping plans to a minimum and savoring simple things. For now, dancing and doing art seem less important than seeing to the little dog, practicing the art of loving a small and helpless being. Yet, into this simplicity has come a request. I have been asked to perform in New Orleans in the spring. Normally, I would be interested, even excited. It has been so long since I have even been there, let alone lived and performed and spent time with friends. Now an old friend has asked, and I am supposed to suggest a date to reserve the venue. And me... I am a dog and cat mother. In earnest... Performing on stage for a New Orleans audience seems completely unreal. I am boggled, yet I must decide. I must decide if four months hence I can leave my haven of simplicity and brave the nerves, the stimulation, and the transcendent joy of giving the gift of dance. Again.. Oh dear!

Extra of little Lumen, who is looking more dog-like every day, though still very small.



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.