Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Hope Bowdler (from Hope Bowdler Hill)

Out for the first (proper) walk of 2018.  For once I didn't start by photographing the sunrise, rather I started walking and for much of the first mile I was in the lee of a hill that blocked any view east.  I'd decided to walk from Church Stretton and take in the hills to the east I didn't climb on my last visit.  

I was chuffed on reaching the col between two hills that the whole of Ape Dale, between the hills and Wenlock Edge, was covered in a blanket of mist and fog.  The shot I've posted was taken after some of the fog had burned away, from Hope Bowdler Hill, looking down on its village namesake and across to Wenlock Edge in the distance.  It was a truly beautiful sight.

I continued on the walk, traversing Hazler Hill, before climbing Ragleth Hill and then crossing the main road to climb up onto the Long Mynd from Ashes Hollow.  In total it was just on 4,000 feet of ascent and the same descent, covering 11 miles.  A bit like climbing Ben Nevis!  Thoroughly enjoyed the day, with great weather throughout.  I treated myself to a pot of tea in Stretton, before winding my way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.