Henley At Night

It was a beautifully sunny day today but sadly I was working on an indoor project and didn’t go for a walk in the sunshine. But I did take the train to Henley-on-Thames at just before 5pm. Yesterday I blipped one of the new electric trains and talked about the electrification of the railway line. The Henley line is a spur from Twyford with two stops in between - Wargrave and Shiplake - and this line has not yet been electrified. ‘Indefinitely delayed’ they’ve said!

Anyway - I had a bit of a wander around Henley as I had an hour before meeting a friend for dinner. We were going on to a meeting after that, but we had a couple of hours to catch up and enjoy a nice meal at Cafe Rouge (with a 40% off voucher no less! Love a bargain!). So my hour around Henley at dusk was my walk for today. Henley is a beautiful place, even at night, and I don’t go often enough, even though it’s right on my doorstep. Must fix that!

The Angel on the Bridge pub is one I’ve eaten at a few times and it’s always provided delicious food and a good view of the river. I once went to a wedding reception on the New Orleans riverboat - Styled on a Mississippi paddle steamer. The church is St Mary’s the Virgin. I’m afraid I don’t know what the other building is - I must pay closer attention next time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.