Trainspotting

This morning I had a Physio appointment. I feel like I have a personal trainer and she’s pushing me pretty hard with increasing the intensity of my exercises almost every visit. I left today feeling spent and wobbly! But thankfully well enough to walk home! It was a damp and grey day but not quite raining so I decided to do a longer loop home as I knew I wasn’t that interested in going on a ‘serious’ walk today.

I ended up at the train station as I wanted to get a good look at the new electric trains that have just started on our line. They’ve been upgrading the line for what seems like an eternity, and with all the extra ‘hardware’ the railway line itself looks positively ugly, but I think has only been a couple of years. The Great Western Electrification Project has worked alongside the ongoing Crossrail project, which was started in 2009 and is due to be completed at the end of 2019. Believe it or not, proposals for this type of ‘Crossrail’ system was first proposed in the 1940s!

I decided to buy a coffee and I enjoyed 20 minutes or so watching the trains come and go. They look very shiny and new and sound a bit quieter. The railway runs along the bottom of my garden down an embankment and I have always enjoyed the sound of the trains so I don’t actually want them to be TOO quiet!

So I’ll need to go on a trip sometime soon and experience the new trains from a passenger perspective!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.