Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Demolition

Another one bites the dust...

For over a year, a building nearby was vacated and made ready for demolition. Just before we left for holiday, we saw the hoarding put up and when G enquired, they said it would take a few weeks to do the job. I didn't think they were serious, but sure enough, when we got back, they three-storey block was well on its way to being pulled down.

G said I should record it for posterity, so here it is. I'm amazed at how easy it is to see the newly opened Dubai Frame; Dubai's newest tourist landmark. We have yet to check it out.

Been at home again and today, I remembered I had to organise some pest control before Monday. I was amazed when I called a company and they said they could be here in two hours. Definitely one of the things I love about living in Dubai! They came too, exactly at 12pm when they said they would, and to my surprise, a smartly dressed man in uniform who was also polite and spoke and understood English did the job in an hour. He used quite a lot of gel for the ants.

The other thing of significance was to try to think of/plan Monday. More ideas buzzing around in my head, but I've made enquiries and got prices for things. :)

And it is the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.