The Haunted Tree

The little sign by this tree reads:- 
"This tree, believed to be over 300 years old, was once celebrated in local folklore. Every year at midnight on Midsummer's Eve, it is said that 
skeletons would rise from its roots and dance to the rattling of their own bones until day break"


The tree is down the road from one of the shops of the charity where Mother volunteers 3 afternoons a week.  Somehow one of the other shop managers had heard I was trying to collect the entire series of Ian Rankin Inspector Rebus and had had a bulk donation which she was hanging onto until I could check them out.  Success, they had the last three I was waiting to find. Of the 22 in the series I have bought perhaps 3 online and have found the rest in charity shops for  between 50p and £2.   We had lunch and a wander nearby and found this tree. Mother remarked that she had driven past it many a time and wondered about its strange shape.  Now she knows  - it's haunted.  And as its over 300 years old I need to report it to the Ancient Tree Register. For this I need it's girth which you can report in metres or hugs. Mother and I will visit again next week and count the hugs! If you are in Worthing next Friday - look out for 2 daft women hugging an ancient tree. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.