Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Signs of spring

The sap is rising, spring is lurking ... here's proof from Newport today, a lovely tree in bloom. Somebody will probably be able to identify the species but it does seem quite premature!
I was out in the garden this morning, pruning shrubs that had either suffered from the snow or had suffered from mild neglect since we arrived. The garden is someone else's creation and there's very little I want to keep, and with the various crises over the past 18 months I'm afraid I've allowed it to get a bit scruffy. If we are hosting Dad's 90th as planned then I'd better sort a few things out. As usual, nothing like a deadline! We do have hellebores and snowdrops from Surrey beginning to show, and the narcissi that bloom crazily early are also in bud. The signs are all there!
I had an appointment in Newport today and loved this sturdy church. It's very solidity was comforting, although sadly, like many churches, the door was firmly padlocked. I would have liked a sit and think ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.