If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

X Cambria Orchid

I had this orchid bought for me at our last garden centre visit.  I have no experience of these hybrids so it will be interesting to see how it goes.  Cambria appears to be a general term used for a number of inter species hybrids.  Miltonia is one of the possible parents and I suspect is the case with this one, until II read the label I was thinking Miltonia.

This evening we went to the local Wildlife Trust (I don't understand why they changed the name form Naturalists Trust ;-))   ) support group for a talk about habitat regeneration in the Haweswater area.  I found the talk fascinating, dispiriting and annoying.  Fascinating because of the work being done and the remnant populations of plants they are finding by scouring the crags in places sheep can't reach.  Dispiriting as they are pouring a lot of man hours and money into protecting and improving plant populations which they admit may disappear owing to climate change.  Annoying as this was an RSPB man giving the talk and birds were hardly mentioned.  In my opinion the RSPB has lost its way, they are trying to be all things to all men and doing things which are already being covered by other organisations.

Sorry rant over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.