OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Dinghy, Loch of Kirbister

I headed out to Hobbister and down to the cliffs.While on the path, as it passes through some bushes, I heard a raven call behind me. As it is always a good idea to see what a raven is fussing about I turned and, sure enough, two ravens were pursuing a peregrine toward me. It veered off about 20m away at head-height and shot away. I heaeded toward the cliff path and came across an injured sheep. It looked as if a dog might have attacked it. I was able to get a message to the farmer but don't know the outcome. The tide was racing out at Waulkmill and I sat for a while and watched it go. A great northern diver fished close in- there always seems to be one there at this time of the year, maybe it's the same bird. I then had a quick look at the Loch of Kirbister. Not much else of not bird-wise, always nice to see a couple of stonechats, and a male hen harrier flew low across the road as I waited for the bus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.