Oranges are sometimes the only fruit

Decided to test out the new phone camera on close up macro today.  I think it did quite well.  I always used to worry about pips in oranges until I discovered that if they have something like this on their one end they will be pipless!  No more pips for me!

Difficult day with Mom and Dad today.  I went round to try to facilitate them both getting to church.  I arrived after nurse and carers so I wouldn't be in the way of normal routine and found Mom only half dressed in the kitchen and not wearing any of the clothes I had put out for her and Dad still in his pyjamas.  When it's like that, it's really difficult to find out exactly what has happened.  It was only 30 minutes before church and all seemed rather chaotic.  It was.  I was told something about nurses arriving without the right kit to do blood sugar testing and Dad having to do it instead, blood sugar being low etc.  I have no idea what happened with the carer.  I think that all worked well except Dad didn't point out Mom's Sunday clothes hanging on the wardrobe.  Anyway, I managed to get Mom ready eventually although I think we may have to give up on skirts and tights!  Dad got ready.  Put the wrong trousers on!  Wanted to wear his suit, then decided he wasn't going to church as he needed to sort out hi hearing aid!  Mom and I went to church even though we were late.  Felt a bit stressed by it all!  We were going out for lunch so I took Mom home first and told Dad we would pick them up at 12.45.  So that's what we went to do.  No-one there!!!!  Dad had decided to drive round to our house because he thought we were picking him up from there!!! Poor man.  Anything different and Dad loses the plot.  We were having a very nice Sunday lunch and then Mom started having difficulty swallowing.  I thought she was going to be sick.  But more than that, i was very worried about her not being able to swallow as that it one of the actions that can become difficult for those with dementia.  I think it was just stress, but it is something different that happened.  One of the reasons for me writing this journal is to track Mom's dementia, so those are the facts as they stand.  Emotionally, it is getting more difficult for all of us.

I start delivery of my course on Dementia Friendly Churches tomorrow - how the ppt works ok!

SHH is still a bit under the weather but hopefully we should have a bit more of a normal week this week!

Going to book my tickets for Crufts now so that we can go and see Emmy from Denmark and Hero performing in the big ring!  And we will see Gollum and Biscuit too!  Amazing who you meet through Blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.