Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Hidden face

This is a bit of an emergency blip job as I'd fully intended to get a blip when out on the golf course today and forgot. Anyway, it's an interesting seedhead that I received this Christmas within a little pouch that my quilting friend, now living in Australia, had made. I've no idea what plant it comes from (a wattle, maybe?) but love the spikiness - and also the face that appeared :-) It lives on a colourful little plate (a housewarming gift from the same friend) with a cone and a seedpod that came with it on its long journey (extra). They're very idiosyncratic and always remind me of the courageous 80+yr old who upped sticks with her husband in 2015 and emigrated down under so that they could be with their daughter and family. We keep in touch through group projects (the monthly blocks we've been making the last 2 yrs) and, of course, through the wonders of the internet. She's a source of inspiration to me, not only because of her creativity but also her attitude to life.
Today has been slightly frustrating through my own lapses. I fired up my laptop yesterday for the first time since Sept and that set off a chain of tasks/updates which feels like I wasted a morning but actually means I can now sensibly use the thing. But I didn't manage the small jobs as a result which is frustrating.
I did manage 9 holes with LH this afternoon preparatory to a golf lesson tomorrow (I've given in) and we felt pretty chilly in the slight breeze. I was going to blip the water feature which looks attractive but in actual fact is an offshoot of the Bermuda Triangle and swallows more than it's fair share of balls, including mine last Weds. The idea was me looking ecstatic or depressed, depending ... You'll have to wait for that one ;-)
Now a roast dinner and some quilting await (I'm determined the blinking massive quilt will be finished soon).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.