Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Stopping to refuel

Start of a new week! I have a problem with my phone and stayed up way too late trying to solve it without restoring my phone to factory settings and starting all over again. In the end, I left the computer running to scan the microSD card for errors. It was almost 2am!

This meant I wasn't really ready to get going at 7:30 or even 8am. :(
So, I got myself ready and went to get my breakfast which involved opening a new Kellogg's Honey and Nut box as the last one had to be put out because the ants just go berserk with the smell of the sugar. Well, I opened the sealed box and thought I'd better make sure there are absolutely no holes in the plastic only to discover there was a hole and the ants had already made their way into my brand new box!!!! They actually started a new trail! Talk about pestilence.

Today is Day 3 since the treatment so we really should see some improvement. In the meantime, I cannot buy another box of Honey and Nut cereal as the ants get into it regardless and I had to put out the entire box. Ugh!

Anyway, breakfast done, I was busy getting things ready for tomorrow's get-together when the cleaner came. I pointed out the bits he should leave untouched, so as to eliminate the ants.

Time seemed to fly. G was home before I knew it and she had a little sit down while I put out some dust collectors that got put away for Christmas 2016 and never got taken out all of last year. I was missing them and it is very nice to see them out again!

We finally ventured out as there is the small and important job of getting my Volvo registered. Over here, before you can register your car, you have to clear any fines you have incurred during the year on any of the vehicles registered in your name. Last year, a parking fine was issued on G's car which we contested but lost. G wanted to pursue this, so we called in at the RTA office where we got the Season Parking card from. The very helpful lady told us that tomorrow morning, we have to visit the main Customer Happiness Centre near the airport to get it sorted.

That thwarted the plan of getting the car registered, so we went shopping to Spinneys instead. And then G decided that the reason she felt so lifeless was in fact because she was hungry, so we decided to share a sizzling platter at Caesar's! Great idea as I fancied something like that as well, and it gave G the chance to get a shot of this building that we've been admiring for a while. It looks like it houses luxury duplex apartments.

The evening was spent taking delivery of t-shirts and mugs for the new website and attending to various other people coming to the door - laundry, car wash man etc. I finally got the chance to sit down and put together some songs (read burn a CD) to play tomorrow and test the screen mirroring connection between laptop and TV. :)

And it looks like I might just get to bed before midnight tonight! [Sorry this has been a rather long entry]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.