one bike at a time

   This morning I was at Carlisle Station, catching a train to London on the way to visit my parents in Sussex. I always have a look at their charity bookshelf in case there's anything to read on the train and today I found a travel guide to Philadelphia. I have no plans to go to Philadelphia but learned a lot about a very interesting city. Also I noticed that all the money from books sold is going towards a  bike ride by Iain Robinson, one of the station announcers, who will be cycling through Rajhasthan in March to raise money for  two charities - Railway Children and Rethink Mental Illness. You can read about it HERE.

Once I got to London Bridge, I'd had enough of sitting down so went on a wander around Bermondsey, exploring the area under the railway arches south of the Thames. Unexpectedly, I came across the shop where Sarah is getting a bike made for herself. It's called Druid Cycles and is a pretty cool place, a not-for -profit community interest company, healing the world one bike at a time, providing cheap recycled bikes for students and assisting efforts for a free, independent and democratic Ukraine... here's their website if you're curious..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.