GATESHEAD TRANSPORT INTERCHANGE

Usual early morning trip to Morrisons.  We had a bit of snow through the night but nothing much.  However it was below zero so my friend Jan had to spend some time scraping the ice from her car.

Back home for a late breakfast and catching up with some TV viewing.  Then it was time for an early tea. 

The on the bus to Gateshead.  Did a bit of shopping before heading to the cinema.  I had a ticket for a free preview screening of The Commuter - starring Liam Neeson.  Whenever i see preview screenings I purposefully never find out anything about the films so I can see them without being influenced by anything I have read.  Won't say too much about The Commuter in case any of you are planning on seeing it but I did enjoy it.  Lots of action, tension - and violence. Liam Neeson was excellent. ( I share my birthday with him although he is one year younger than me ).

When I came out of the cinema I had  5 mins before my bus was due so I quickly made my way to the Interchange and got there just in time.  Then a very quick journey home as there was very little traffic.

The Wide Wednesday theme today is Transprort.  So I took this panoramic shot of the transport interchange.  It serves as a hub for local buses and the Metro system.  Coach holidays also pick up and drop off here.

The Interchange opened in 1981.  In my shot you can see part of  the sculpture named Opening Line.  It is a 90-metre steel and glass sculpture by London-based artist Danny Lane, and is one of the biggest public artworks in Britain. The artwork was inspired by this area's engineering and maritime heritage.  Thanks to steveng for hosting the challenge.

Steps today - 9,746

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.