A Simple Photo

Sometimes I just like simplicity.  White snow on our steeply sloping roof, a little sunlight, and blue sky. That is all that is required.
As I took this picture I was standing on the flattish roof of our bathroom. Snow had "flowed" from the two sloping roofs onto the flat roof, creating heavy piles. (See extra, taken from the ladder before I climbed onto the bathroom roof.) In one place it was nearly as deep as I am tall.
It took about 2 hours to clear the small roof and as high up the sloping roofs as I could reach. It was hard work, especially as my shoulder is still restricting many of my arm movements, but it was also nice to be up there. The air was dry, the wind had died away, and the temperature, about -7°C, was perfect for this sort of physical work. The work kept me warm, the cold kept me from getting sweaty.
Later in the day I went on a walk with Jan, and then cleared some more snow from the paths and around the car.  After that it was lovely to sink into a very hot bath with a large cup of rum-spiked coffee, and a good book to read as I soaked away the aches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.