Taking a photo

I spent some time today at The Societies of Photographers  Convention in London.  They always have a large display of prints by professional photographers - mainly portraits and weddings - which I enjoy.  There is also a trade show, which used to be mainly album manufacturers and suppliers of wall art (frames, block mounts, etc) but is increasingly in the last couple of years has included camera and other equipment manufacturers.

I wanted to use the opportunity to keep up to date with some new camera equipment.  I am conscious that my little compact camera, which I have with me most of the time and is used for the majority of my blips, is quite old and has already had one major repair.  If it fails at any time I want to know quickly what I would replace it with.

On the Canon stand, I tried the new G1X Mk III.  I put in my own memory card so I could bring away this photo, which is a JPEG straight from the camera.  It is an amazingly small camera, given that it has an APS-C sensor (the same size as most DSLRs). Quite impressive, although I fear it may still suffer from slow speed of operation like most compact cameras.  It is also exorbitantly expensive.

Here the Canon representative is using an imaginary camera to photograph a visitor to the stand - who is obviously expecting it all to take a long time, so he has brought his lunch with him.

Drove to Bristol this evening for a weekend away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.