A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Pre Burns supper

Burns night isn't till next Thursday but we all have some something else on next week so my friend is coming tonight for a pre Burns night supper.

This has become a bit of a post Christmas tradition with us as she is usually away over the Christmas period and as she is a Scot it seems a suitable thing to celebrate instead.

The haggis is smaller than we usually get but it's the only size they had in M&S in Ilkley. We will have Scottish oat cakes with our prawn and avocado starter (more usually we have smoked salmon) and then finish with Cranachan, more oatmeal, whiskey and raspberries with honey in cream.

We will of course have bashed neeps and tatties with the haggis and some very un Scottish green veg!
I'm tagging this for Silly Saturday but mean no offence to my Scottish friends. It just seems quite a silly 'thing'.
A couple of years ago on blip I said we had been haggis hunting and I think some people believed me!
Slainte!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.