Sancerre with Pumpkin

My friend arrived for dinner this evening bearing the gift of a bottle of Sancerre, one of my favourite wines!

The bottle came from an ice bucket on a Lear Jet, how glam! (Alas, not his plane I might add).

Cooked up a tasty supper and settled down to watch The English Patient , one of my favourite films. I adore the soundtrack, the script, storyline, landscape, but mostly the flying scenes. Kristen Scott-Thomas and Ralph Fiennes portray such chemistry as fated lovers you cannot take your eyes off the screen.

In one scene the lovers declare their undying love for one another and Katherine (Kristen Scott-Thomas) addresses Almásy (Ralph Fiennes) as her sausage.

My friend announces it would be hilarious to start calling me sausage at the flying club. My reply: “That’s absolutely fine if I can call you Pumpkin!”

He’s lucky he’s one of my favourite people. Not everyone would get away with it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.