lovelife209

By mindful_life

Soaking Sunday

The weather today has been grey and wet and dull so I have had a quiet day of catching up on chores at home, doing lots of reading and some writing.

My son’s swimming was slightly later than usual today and at a different venue because of activities being held at his usual pool. It is a lovely pool but an old building where Mr ML actually learned to swim many years ago! He usually takes my son on Sundays but he was busy helping our neighbour with some DIY stuff in his house so I agreed I would go so he could get on with that. I thought that the pool and building, given it is old looked good in this sepia colour!

We were actually reflecting on neighbours last night and how different things are today compared to how I remember things when I was a child. Perhaps it was where we lived or perhaps it is just a reflection of the change in people over years but I remember knowing all of our neighbours, being friendly and having get togethers for birthdays and Christmas but now we know very few of our neighbours. People seem much more closed off and unwilling even to greet you with a hello when you bump into them. I think it’s a real shame as we certainly don’t live somewhere with a sense of community.

Having said that we do have one kind neighbour we have known for years and he will always do anything for you and we try and reciprocate when ever we can. Kind good neighbours it seems are hard to come by but I am very grateful for ours.

“A bad neighbour is a misfortune as much as a good one is a great blessing.” - Hesiod

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.