Porch Shadows

Dear Diary,

I haven't done a monochrome image in quite a while so I thought I would try the shadows on the porch.  Shadows always fascinate me.  There won't be any shadows out there today as we are expecting a somewhat messy day of snow and freezing rain.

When I started back in photography in 2005 I worked exclusively with the monochrome image.  Color simply wasn't on my radar.  Now it seems to be the opposite.  But there is something wonderful about an image rendered in black and white...something simple and pure.  It is all about line, shape and texture.  You see the essence of the subject without the window dressing of color.

I'm getting to know my new camera and it does well when there is enough light.  I have never liked using a flash but this camera doesn't give me the option in low light conditions.  I'll continue to play with it and I'm sure I will get used to it.  It sure is light and compact!  Perfect for travel.

I've added a monochrome image from my 2011 trip to South Uist when I still was totally dedicated to black and white.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.