A Domestic Still Life

Dear Diary,

These are three hankies that my grandmother crocheted over 30 years ago...probably closer to 40 years ago now I think about it as she died 30 years ago this May and she hadn't done anything like this in years before that.  Let's just say, it was a long, long time ago!  My grandmother thought a lady should always carry a real handkerchief and not paper tissues.  I still make sure I have one when I go to a funeral!

I added a couple of my own things to create the still life and I thought I would add something you can puzzle about what it was used for.  The brass "locket" thing is something I use to wear while I was doing stitchery, something I did a lot of back in  the day.  Hand craft like this is sort of in my genes I guess.  I don't do much of it now since photography  and writing have taken over my life.

Speaking of photography, I got a new little travel camera, a Nikon Coolpix, that I can keep in my pocket book.  It is so light and easy to use!  Now, with the iPad and this tiny camera, I can travel really light.  I will spend this Sunday playing with it and seeing what it can and cannot do.  It is a far cry from my big Nikon D90 but it was time to find a light alternative for travel.

(Given up on the "locket" thingie?  It is to cut thread when you are sewing!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.