ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Forgotten.

Cake-bakery tonight. Tomorrow is the World's Biggest Coffee Morning for Macmillan cancer support, and I've volunteered my cookery services (now I've got a fancy new kitchen)! I was meant to be making a ginger and chocolate cake, but fate seemed to get in the way. Firstly, I printed off a recipe, but then when I arrived home I realised I'd posted it through my neighbour's letterbox with their letters that had been delivered to us this morning - that would have confused them. Not to be defeated so easily, I looked up the recipe again on my phone, only to find that when I got the ingredients out, my stem ginger had gone off in February! Right then, basic chocolate cake it was. I managed to bake it without incident, and ice it with chocolate and tiny edible gold stars. I will upload a Blip tomorrow! The recipe is here if you make it, don't be worried by the very, very loose texture of the batter. I was so worried that I didn't even add the 250ml of boiling water if specified - but it turned out just fine. It was gooey in the middle and firm on the outside, and the icing was just lovely.

Today's Blip is a conundrum. I have absolutely no idea what it is; other than a piece of leather (which presumably used to have some sort of purpose), stuffed behind some pipework near Aberdeen's most manky student club, Liquid, and long forgotten through what I can only assume is several season's worth of harsh weather. Suggestions on a postcard.

M cooked us both a lovely dinner of salmon with baked potatoes and green beans, and then we tackled the cleaning in the bathroom. Everything was sparkley by the time we'd finished, but both M and I were shattered, and after a half-glass of wine on the sofa, I fell asleep and drooled all over M's shoulder. He went for a shower (he told me it wasn't because of the drool, but I'm not sure), and by the time he came to bed I was fast asleep. This home-making is hard work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.