The Plantation Garden, Norwich

I located another of Norwich's secret treasures this lunchtime, when Carol and I were out walking. I was told of its existence by James a couple of weeks ago, and we needed somewhere to head to today, so we thought we'd walk in that direction. Just beyond the ring road, behind St John the Baptist Roman Catholic cathedral. We walked up St Benedict's Street. It is not often I walk up there without dipping into the many interesting shops, but not today. Then up along the ring road and across the flyover.

The garden was created in the mid 19th century, from a disused chalk quarry, by a wealthy businessman You have to visit for yourselves to get the full benefit of its charm. A sunny summer's day would be perfect. We will be back. We might take James ;)

A good productive day at work and I left just after 5. As I walked to the bus stop there were people huddling in the doorways of the estate agents in their sleeping bags. In the morning, if I'm early, they will be fast asleep in that same doorway. Whatever the weather. There is a lot of good in this world, but a lot that has gone wrong in it too. I may not be wealthy like so many of my friends, but compared to these people, I'm a millionaire. It's a sad sight.

The evening is flying. Finished the ironing and now a bit of tv before bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.