Wat Phra Yai - History

The wifi is terribly slow this evening and it's taken a long long time to upload today.  I was out early to visit the Buddha as I thought I'd get some better photos without crowds there, but I wasn't bargaining on an increase in the humidity which fogged up the camera and made it awkward for a while.  Several of my shots have a very hazy look to them, almost like an Orton effect.

As I neared the bottom of the steps I could hear chanting and smell the incense and as I got to the top I could feel a real sense of calm.  The big Buddha that I've blipped obviously dominates the site, but there are several more  -  sitting, standing and reclining and they're all equally interesting.  In my extras you can see the size and scale of the sculpture and a candid shot of a little girl with her mother walking up towards the shrine.

Many thanks for the kind comments and stars left for yesterday's blip, and thank you Steveng for hosting the WidWed challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.