Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A mini blipmeet

Today I traveled to Atlanta, Georgia, 3+hours to meet up with TLDE, Terry for a little tour of the big city (and you know I am a country girl!)  There must have been 10,000 cars in front of me at one point going 25mph but I got off the parking lot and found another way to get to where I was going.

We had a wonderful time at the Botanical Gardens..not much blooming but some daffodils were showing their faces and a few camellias that did not get frosted last week when the snow came.    In the conservatory were some tropical flowers and some strange frogs..blue, green, yellow and some strange toads.   Several Chulily glass sculptures but I loved the way I have shown that was at the top of the water fountain..it must be symbolic of water!!   

A trip uptown to a repurposed warehouse that is now a shopping complex with a doorway upstairs that leads to the Beltway..a portion of the walking and biking path that will eventually go around the city of Atlanta where there are many tall blue buildings!   We took a walk on the beltway after having a sandwich.   The young man in the photo was snapping a couple of photos of Terry and I with his Canon(my kind of camera!) so I had to get one of him..some street photography!   The Fox theater is the original old building where I believe  the Gone with the Wind movie was first premiered!   We also went by the Center for Disease Control (CDC) which is a huge complex and where all the nasty germs are studied but not photo!  

It was a good day!   Blip friends are so wonderful!!   Thanks to Terry for spending the day with this country girl!!   

Had to add the sunset that happened when I was about 5 miles from home..it was shot with the iphone as I pulled over on the side of the road and is not really sharp but you can imagine how is was looking across the field where the big tree was silhoutted against the sky.   Made my day!   

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.