Lake Mattheson

We drove down the West Coast today in the pouring rain. We stopped briefly in Hokitika, got totally soaked in the horizontal rain and were grateful that the West Coast looks better in the wet.

When we stopped at Fox Glacier (or Foxes Glacier as my folks called it), the rain stopped for long enough for us to take a side trip to Lake Mattheson. It's renowned for it's mirrorlike reflections. I've NEVER seen it in the dry and NEVER seen the reflections looking like they do on the postcards. However, it was still pretty cool and Dad and I took heaps of pics.

On then to Pine Grove Motel, about 35 km south and a welcome break for us all. Quiet night in a nice motel.

I do have to admit though that I let Cousteau up on the bed with me. He was pretty on edge and it seemed like the only way to calm him down. He didn't move a muscle all night and settled like magic.

Shhh, don't tell anyone. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.