Ready to Pack

They're waiting by the suitcase.
They're wondering where they're off:
For him, a brand new short-sleeved shirt.
For her, a lightweight top.

He said he didn't need a shirt,
His other one still fitted,
It wasn't worn, it wasn't torn ...
Too late. She'd paid. Committed!

They're waiting by the suitcase
So they won't be left behind.
I wonder, when we wear them,
What adventures we shall find.

As long as we have sunshine
And warmth, that's good enough.
In new clothes or in old clothes,
We won't be in the buff!


© Celia Warren 2018

So (as they say ahead of anything else these days) ... So, this morning I went and had my hair cut. Then went to the charity shop and bought another book to take with me - books I can read and leave behind for other English speaking visitors. This will free up precious suitcase space so that we can bring back bottles of Madeira on our return. Then I popped into M&Co for a cheerer-upper purchase or two.

This afternoon, I might start packing. This allows me to change my mind half a dozen times over the next few days. Getting excited now. I'm still croaking, but the coughing is less. And the last couple of nights I've enjoyed uninterrupted sleep, and there's nothing like sleep to heal. Thank you for all your kind wishes - they're obviously taking effect. And, even if it is raining and blowing again now, we did have some sunshine this morning that was most uplifting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.