nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Losing my shit

I can count the number of times that I've lost my temper on one hand, but jeez, this afternoon came pretty close. It's an accumulation of small irritants that can push me over the edge - the straw and the camel's back I suppose. I was still in awe of yesterday's revelation that 'my' lab (my as in I'm responsible for) has been fitted with a lock to which no one has a key. Without going into boring details today has brought some sort of extreme Chinese whispers with our estates colleagues (reduce all requests to the simplest possible job - that's probably someone's 'razor'), followed by people borrowing bits that I've spent ages finding since the last borrowing... I can't even keep my lab coat to myself - it has a large badge on reading 'Ben's lab coat - do not borrow' but still when I go to use it, it's usually been moved and smells of someone else's perfume/aftershave.*

The blip is what I found in a drawer when moving the contents - someone has left a sample lurking at the back which has leaked, I had no idea what it was so here's hoping nothing too toxic.



*The gendering of fragrances is entirely marketing based. By smell it could have been anything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.