Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Sound of Seil rounding the breakwater

Where every journey begins and ends. After the drive from Edinburgh, through bright sun until Langbank and heavy traffic until the last mile or so, the sudden peace of the terminal at McInroy's Point and the welcome sight of the ferry approaching as we took our place in line. You can see the edge of the next weather front heading eastwards into the pale clear sky, but the Firth of Clyde is a different environment from the mass of white horses we crossed two days ago.

One of these days when I didn't want to come home: I wanted to stay in the sun, in the tidy flat with no responsibilities, no demands other than where we might go to eat, and the chance to see our granddaughters every day if we wanted to. It's not that I'm not looking forward to the work I'm doing tomorrow, to the resumption of my normal pursuits, but as we packed to leave I felt much more like heading out to the sunny Botanics in Edinburgh for lunch.

Which reminds me - it's dinner time, and the only thing I've eaten since breakfast is a large Medjoul date. Fast, anyone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.