DRIED SUNFLOWER

Made a slow start to the day but after lunch I caught up with some household chores.  Neil had the day off so he invited me to go for a meal.  I went online to see if I could find any discount vouchers and found two deals for Frankie & Benny's. One for 50%  off main meals and another for two free cocktails.

Neil chose meatball calzone and I had salmon with salad.  The cocktails were called Jan Bug  and consisted of Malibu, Jack Daniels, Peach Puree and Orange Juice. Neil  doesn't like the taste of Mailbu so ...........  I had to drink both of them. They were delicious.

After the meal Neil came straight back here.  I stayed for a while to do a bit of shopping. 

Neil has gone back home tonight as he needs to do a quick tidy up before his girlfriend gets home tomorrow from her skiing trip.  She will be home late as she flies in to Manchester airport and then has to get the train back to Newcastle.  Neil is making an early start himself tomorrow as he's off to Doncaster Races. 

My Riverford organic vegetable box was delivered this morning.(  I won 6 months of boxes in a competition )  They come once a fortnight.  Lots of lovely fresh veg including potatoes, kale, broccolli, tomatoes and onions. 

There was also a free gift in the box  - a dried sunflower head for the birds.  Guy - a Riverford farmer   - originally planted thousands of sunflowers on his French farm in the Vendée hoping to make his own organic sunflower oil.  While watching the local wildlife thrive off the crop, he had an idea – he would offer them as a treat for British birds instead.   I will hang my sunflower head up in the garden and hopefully the birds will be attracted to it. Decided to blip it for Flower Friday.  Thanks to BikerBear for hosting.

Steps today - 7,979

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.